+389 46 255 600, +389 72 255 600

08:00 - 20:00


The Ohrid Swimming Marathon is an international Open water swimming competition.

It`s held once a year in the waters of the Ohrid Lake, Republic of Macedonia. The swimming path "Klime Savin" is 30 km long starting from the Monastery of St. Naum and going north toward the city port of Ohrid. 

The first marathon race was done on the relation "Gorica – Ohrid", which is 2,5 km and was organized in 1952. There were 8 participants on that race and the winner was Niko Nestor. 
The following marathons were held in 1956 and 1957 with Diki Bojadji and Gjoko Chudov as winners. 
The first real marathon was held in 1962 on the relation "Pestani Village – Struga – Ohrid" with length of 36 km and the winner was Abu Heif from Egipt, the second place was won from William De Vreng from the Netherlands and third was Diki Bojadji from Macedonia. In the women competition the winner was Atina Bojadji from Macedonia, who was a sister of Diki Bojadji. Tha Marathon continued until 1966 (except in 1963, due to the big earthquake which destroyed Skopje), and from 1992 it`s organized every year on the path "Klime Savin". Starting from 1998 the competition is part of the program of FINA (The International Swimming Federation. In 2008 the Marathon was marked with a big celebration. 

The competitor with the most victories in the men`s competition (11 of 20) is the Bulgarian swimmer Petar Stoychev and in the women`s competition the Dutch swimmer Editt van Dyke with 4 wins. 

Traditionally the President of Macedonia gives the awards to the swimmers because he is the patron of this competition.